Why I teach

Teaching
2 min readOct 2, 2020

History teacher, Lila Cherrih, 26, on the daily rewards of teaching

I believe that education is the single most powerful vehicle for social justice and mobility. I grew up in a single-parent working-class home in Haringey, north London, and education was the gateway to opportunities that might otherwise have been out of reach for me.

My mum placed a strong emphasis on working hard and being successful at school. I went on to get a First in History from Oxford University, before completing a Master’s in Palestine Studies at SOAS, University of London.

After volunteering in Israel and Palestine, I worked with a Non-Governmental Organisation in the Middle East in conflict mediation. Working with young people, I saw how education was hugely important not only to their own futures, but to that of their country.

I loved my role, but I wanted to make a more tangible impact, so after 18 months, I decided to register with Teach First, a charity that partners with schools in disadvantaged areas to offer on-the-job training. Within a month I began training as a history teacher at a secondary school in north London.

The immediate reward of teaching is something that few professions can match. You get to see progress and make an impact on a daily basis.

I believe the role of teachers is to give students the foundation upon which they can pursue their dreams and aspirations, whatever they may be. Their chosen end goal is undoubtedly important, but the focus should always be on ensuring that doors remain open to them.

I always knew that if I went into teaching I would teach history. It shapes young people’s understanding of the world around them and develops their ability to think critically.

It’s by no means a job where you clock off at 5pm; you take it home — in the obvious sense of marking and planning — but also emotionally. It’s the children who really make it rewarding and worthwhile.

From the Year 9 student who wants to be a ‘space nurse’ to the one who insists I must have seven husbands because I wear seven rings, they keep me going in the toughest moments.

They provide the laughter and highs, and every day I get to see the impact I’m making. It’s a job I’ll never be bored of.

*First appeared in ELLE UK, March 2020 as part of a paid partnership.

--

--

Teaching

Providing help and advice on how and why to get into teaching.